Creatives, performers, media, personalities, nominated for Mzansi Christian Awards

Mzansi Awards visionary
Edzani Raaloe (Visionary Leader of the Mzansi Christian Awards).

The 2nd Annual Mzansi Christian Awards (MCA2016) — scheduled for October 1 — have announced a strong line-up of nominations for its creative, performance and media awards.

Breakthrough artist Dr Tumi received four nominations — Best Christian Artist, Best Contemporary Artist, Best Male Personality and Personality of the Year, scoring the same number of nominations as Jessica Nkosi who was nominated for Best Female TV Personality, Best Female Personality, Best Styled Artist and Personality of the year.

Right behind was track master, Wayne Van Niekerk with three nominations, accompanied in this league by Criselda Dudumashe, and Mnqobi Nxumalo.

In the “Personality of the Year” category different industry heavyweights Dr Tumi, Jessica Nkosi, Wayde Van Niekerk, Dudumashe, Karabo Mogane go head-to-head in what is sure to be one of the highlights of the night.

The “Best Male Personality of the Year” category will be a fiercely contested affair as Dr Tumi, Khaya Mthethwa, Wayde Van Niekerk, Heinz Winkler, Karabo Mogane vie for the much-coveted statuette.

“Best Female Personality of the Year” sees a strong field of nominees — namely Ntokozo Mbambo, Jessica Nkosi, Mmatema Moremi, Khanyi Magubane, and Criselda Dudumashe.

“Mainstream and Christian TV and Radio Personalities of the Year” will be another epic battle on the night, as the likes of Clement Maosa, Lesley Musina, Nay Maps , Tshepo Mosese, Vuyo Dabula, Dawn Thandeka, Penny Lebyane, Rorisang Thandekiso, Maumela Mahuwa, Loyiso Bala, Sebolelo Makoanyane, Tshepo Maseko, Sthembiso Mhlongo, Winnie Mashaba, Rotenda Maiwashe, Thami Ngubeni and Thabo Mdhuli vie for top honours.

“Best Sports Personality of the Year” is also strong contested with nominees — namely Wayne Sandilands, Chris Van Heerden, Thabo Mnyamane, Wayde Van Niekerk and Jackson Mabokgwane.

The hotly contested “Best Mainstream and Christian Artist” categories are also to look out for as Brenda Mtambo, Karabo Mogane, Nomfusi, Judith Sephuma and Vincent Bones battle each other whilst on the other hand Freddie Wessels, Dr Tumi, Mnqobi Nxumalo, Takie Ndou and Shaun P also vie for the top spot.

Other categories on the night included those in Inspiration, Dance and Fashion, which were also hotly contested.

The nominee announcements were made by a reputable MCA2016 panel comprising legendary comedian Kedibone Mulaudzi, Khanyi Magubane, Tshamano Makhadi, Hosea Ramphekwa, Harold Moyo and Glisson Niekerk. Passion Beverages CEO MB Tshabangu, Managing Director of Nissi Brand Solutions Mukhethwa Nemanashi and Head of Events at Radio Pulpit Jack Motsoetla also joined them.

“We have some of the most exciting categories in years and this tells me that the 2nd Annual Mzansi Christian Awards at the Springs Civic Centre in Ekurhuleni, Gauteng are sure to leave an unforgettable mark on the face of South African Christian creative art and entertainment and we cannot wait for October 1 2016”, said Mzansi Christian Awards Visionary Leader, Edzani Raaloe.

01 October 2016: Nominees Celebration Red Carpet Interviews
17H30 19H00
01 October 2016: MCA 2016 Awards Ceremony
19H00 – 21H30
01 October 2016: LIVE Backstage Web/Mobi cast interviews with winners, performers
17H30 – 21H30

The full list of nominees below
1. Inspirational Personality of the Year
Ronny Phaahla
Tebogo Mahlahlane
Sibusiso Mfeka
Hosea Ramphekwa
Koketso Molaolwe
(To Vote: SMS “Inspirational” & “Name” to 47177)

2. Comedian of the Year
Mdu Ntuli
The Napsta
T.D. Jokes
(To Vote: SMS “Comedian” & “Name” to 47177)

3. Best Styled Personality of the Year
Nay Maps
Elle Tisane
Jessica Nkosi
Mnqobi Nxumalo
Blaque Nubon
(To Vote: SMS “Styled” & “Name” to 47177)

4. Fashion Designer/Stylist of the Year
Lungile Mbambo
Lindani Ndwandwa
Tdee Rambani
Meagan Duckitt
Tumelo Mahlakgane
(To Vote: SMS “Fashion” & “Name” to 47177)

5. Dancer/Dance Crew of the Year
Legacy Dance Crew
Creed Dance Crew
Rogue Crew
Chemical Reaction
Freeze Frame
(To Vote: SMS “Dance” & “Name” to 47177)

6. Rap Artist of the Year
Solomon Spencer
Jhey Dot
Ambassador J Loemba
Ricwa Die Griekwa
(To Vote: SMS “Rap” & “Name” to 47177)

7. Rock/Pop Artist of the Year
Victory 5
Jolene Joseph
One Crown
Matthew 10
Ju-Aan Van Der Poll
(To Vote: SMS “Rockpop” & “Name” to 47177)

8. Traditional Artist of the Year
Buhle Nhlangulela
Sipho Sheperd
Gugu Gumbi
Muzi B
(To Vote: SMS “Traditional” & “Name” to 47177)

9. Traditional Contemporary Artist of the Year
Friends In Praise
Takie Ndou
Sipho Ngwenya
Women In Praise
Ps. Lungi Ndala
(To Vote: SMS “TC” & “Name” to 47177)

10. Contemporary Artist of the year
Dr. Tumi
Freddie Wessels
Mnqobi Nxumalo
Neville D
Adrian Losper
(To Vote: SMS “Contemporary” & “Name” to 47177)
11. Best Praise & Worship Artist of the Year
Freddie Wessels
Collen Maluleke
Loyiso Bala
Lebo Sekgobela
Shaun P
(To Vote: SMS “PraiseWorship” & “Name” to 47177)

12. Best Duo/Group of the Year
Spirit Of Praise Choir
Covenant Voices
Go Expo
Annointed Worship
Friends In Praise
(To Vote: SMS “Group” & “Name” to 47177)

13. Best Christian Artist
Freddie Wessels
Dr. Tumi
Mnqobi Nxumalo
Takie Ndou
Shaun P
(To Vote: SMS “ChristArtist” & “Name” to 47177)

14. Best Mainstream Artist
Brenda Mtambo
Karabo Mogane
Judith Sephuma
Vincent Bones
(To Vote: SMS “MainArtist” & “Name” to 47177)

15. Best Sports personality of the Year
Wayne Sandilands
Chris Van Heerden
Thabo Mnyamane
Wayde Van Niekerk
Jackson Mabokgwane
(To Vote: SMS “Sports” & “Name” to 47177)

16. Radio personality of the Year (Christian)
Vusi Leo (Radio Pulpit)
Franklite Sehlapelo (Impact FM)
Lukho Mkwedi (Link FM)
Teddy Boyi (Rainbow FM)
Elton Jansen (CCFM)
(To Vote: SMS “RadioChrist” & “Name” to 47177)

17. Radio personality of the Year (Mainstream)
Khanyi Magubane (SAFM)
Rotenda Maiwashe (Phalaphala FM)
Criselda Dudumashe (Metro FM)
Thami Ngubeni (Metro FM)
Thabo Mdhuli (Power FM)
(To Vote: SMS “RadioMain” & “Name” to 47177)

18. Best TV personality of the Year (Christian)
Loyiso Bala (TBN Meets)
Sebolelo Makoanyane (Out & About)
Alpha Youth (One Gospel)
Sthembiso Mhlongo (Gospel Gold)
Winnie Mashaba (Dumisa TV)
(To Vote: SMS “TVChrist” & “Name” to 47177)

19. Best Female TV personality of the Year (Mainstream)
Dawn Thandeka (Uzalo)
Penny Lebyane (Sunrise)
Jessica Nkosi (Isibaya)
Rorisang Thandekiso (Mzansi Insider)
Maumela Mahuwa (Muvhango)
(To Vote: SMS “FemaleTV” & “Name” to 47177)

20. Best Male TV Personality of the Year (Mainstream)
Clement Maosa (Skeem Saam)
Lesley Musina (Muvhango)
Nay Maps (Uzalo)
Tshepo Mosese (Scandal)
Vuyo Dabula (Generations)
(To Vote: SMS “MaleTV” & “Name” to 47177)

21. Best Newcomer of the Year
Julanie J
Sihle Ndaba
Mmatema Moremi
Ps. Lungi Ndala
Nothando Hlophe
(To Vote: SMS “Newcomer” & “Name” to 47177)

22. Best Female personality of the Year
Ntokozo Mbambo
Jessica Nkosi
Mmatema Moremi
Khanyi Magubane
Criselda Dudumashe
(To Vote: SMS “Female” & “Name” to 47177)

23. Best Male personality of the Year
Dr. Tumi
Khaya Mthethwa
Wayde Van Niekerk
Heinz Winkler
Karabo Mogane
(To Vote: SMS “Male” & “Name” to 47177)

24. Best Personality of the Year
Dr. Tumi
Jessica Nkosi
Wayde Van Niekerk
Criselda Dudumashe
Karabo Mogane
(To Vote: SMS “Personality” & “Name” to 47177)

Voting closes on September 30 at midnight. For further information about entry guidelines and rules, categories, selection criteria, nominations processes, voting and entry forms, please visit


Comments are closed.