Truly beautiful and different album

Music Review by Shelley Wasserman

LEIGH NASH – Hymns and Sacred Songs
Record Label: Kingsway Music
Album length: 12 tracks: 47 minutes, 17 seconds

Leigh Nash, lead vocalist of Sixpence None the Richer, has produced a wonderful album. This is her 3rd solo album and includes talented musicians from bands like Hillsongs and Delirious. One must not be fooled by the title of this album and one’s prejudices towards hymns – be they positive or negative connotations – as this album is truly beautiful and different.  Leigh Nash has added a twist to every hymn and sacred song.

Her voice is mesmerizingly beautiful with the folksy style we know, from previous albums, she can pull off so well.  Add the backdrop of hymns that are rich in meaning and depth to the mix and one cannot go wrong purchasing this album.  It includes some well known hymns like “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” and  “Blessed Redeemer,” but also includes some more modern ones of which some she helped write.

It is a rather laid-back album, yet the meaning of words and passion is not lacking nor lost.  While most of the songs are folk, Nash has also added to some songs a more pop sounding element.  She is indeed incredibly talented and one can truly appreciate the creativity that has gone into this album.  The use of the instruments played is also very refreshing and beautiful…rather angelic. The melodies were successfully changed in order to revive, refresh and reinspire the words of the songs, as sometimes melodies can become stale and the songs seem to lose their meaning because of one’s familiarity with them.

This is the first of three albums that Nash and Kingsway will be producing together.  I am truly looking forward to hearing the next two.


  1. Savior, Like A Shepherd (Blessed Jesus)
  2. Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
  3. Isaiah 55
  4. Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely
  5. Power of the Cross
  6. Give Myself to You
  7. Come Ye Thankful People Come
  8. Blessed Redeemer
  9. Out of My Bondage
  10. Song of Moses
  11. Praise The Lord Who Reigns Above
  12. Be Still My Soul

Take a listen to “Give Myself To You”

Comments are closed.