2016 GMA Dove award nominees

Hillsong United at the Forum in Los Angeles, October 23 2014.(PHOTO: DPS WORSHIP/ANTHONY DEVER).

Originally published in The Christian Post

The 47th annual GMA Dove Awards announced this year’s list of nominees on Wednesday and among those recognised in multiple categories are some of Christian music’s biggest names.

The prestigious category for Artist of the Year highlights Hillsong United, Lecrae, Tobymac, for KING & COUNTRY and Lauren Daigle. Other categories that will be awarded are New Artist of the Year, Worship Song of the Year, and Album of the Year (separated by genres).

Click on banner to register

Christian songwriter Jason Ingram has garnered the most nominations with seven; Daigle has six, and both Hillsong UNITED and Chris Tomlin follow with five nominations each.

The theme for the 2016 Dove Awards is “Love Amplified,” which speaks to the collective power of unity when Christians come together with one voice.

The award show is set for October 11 in the Allen Arena at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee. The show will be broascast on TBN October 16, reaching over 100 million viewers in the US and around the world.

Voting for the final winners will run from August 23 to 30.

This year’s nominees and categories include:

Artist of the Year

for King and Country, Word Entertainment

Hillsong United, Hillsong Music Australia/Sparrow Records

Lauren Daigle, Centricity Music

Lecrae, Reach Records

Tobymac, ForeFront records

New Artist of the Year

Hollyn, Gotee Records

Jordan Feliz, Centricity Music

Stars Go Dim, Word Entertainment

Travis Greene, RCA Inspiration

We Are Messengers, Word Entertainment

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year

Everyday Jesus — Anthony Brown & group therAPy, (producers) Leonard S. Scott, Bryant S. Scott, Anthony Brown and VaShawn Mitchell

We Give You Praise — Chicago Mass Choir, (producers) Percy Gray, Jr., Demetrius Banks, Cornelius Doles Felicia Welch and Feranda Williamson

WAP New Era — James Hall Worship & Praise, (producers) James Hall, Troy Chambers and Kevin Bond

Powerful — Japan Mass Choir, (producer) DA Johnson

Level Next — John P. Kee, (producer) John P. Kee

Rap and Hip-Hop Album of the Year

Uncomfortable — Andy Mineo, (producers 42 North, Alex Medina, Black Knight, Daniel Steele, Dirty Rice, Elhae, Gabriel Lambirth, Gawvi, Illmind, Jon Bellion

Therapy Session — NF, (producers) Tommee Profitt, David Garcia, The720

Church Clothes 3 – Lecrae, (producers) Black Knight, Epikh Pro, GAWVI, Mykalife, Ryan Righteous, S1

This Time Around – Tedashii, (producers) Gabriel Azucena, Jamaal “Elhae” Jones, Crystal “Crystal Nicole” Johnson-Pompey, John “The Kracken” Williams

Forward — Flame, (producers) SPEC, Courtney Orlando, G. Roc

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year

Cities — Live in New York City — Anberlin, (producer) Aaron Sprinkle

Sound Of The Saints — Audio Adrenaline, (producers), Seth Mosley, Joshua Silverberg, Nick Baumhardt

Dead Man Walking — John Tibbs, (producer) Ben Shive

The Wonderlands: Sunlight & Shadows — Jon Foreman, (producers) Tyler Strickland, Anton Patzner, Neal Avron, Keith Tutt, Aaron Roche, Dan Brigham Jeremy Lutito, Jason Morant

Surrender — Kutless, (producer) Aaron Sprinkle

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

My Story — Big Daddy Weave, (writers) Mike Weaver, Jason Ingram

Just Be Held — Casting Crowns, (writers) Mark Hall, Bernie Herms, Matthew West

Good Good Father — Chris Tomlin, (writers) Pat Barrett, Tony Brown

Tell Your Heart To Beat Again — Danny Gokey, (writers) Jordan Feliz, Colby Wedgeworth, Joshua Silverberg

Trust In You — Lauren Daigle, (writers) Paul Mabury, Michael Farren, Lauren Daigle

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

Jesus Changed Everything — Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

Jesus Gave Me Water — Gaither Vocal Band, (writer) Lucie E. Campbell

I Am Blessed — Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Karen Peck Gooch, Kenna West, Michael Farren

Keep On — Perrys, (writers) Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

Jesus, The One — The Hoppers, (writer) Paula Stefanovich

Worship Song of the Year

No Longer Slaves — (writers) Jonathan David Helser, Brian Johnson, Joel Case (publisher) Bethel Music Publishing

Good Good Father — (writers)Jonathan David Helser, Brian Johnson, Joel Case (publisher) Bethel Music Publishing

Touch the Sky — (writers) Joel Houston, Dylan Thomas, Michael Guy Chislett, (publisher Hillsong Music Publishing

We Believe — (writers) Travis Ryan, Richie Fike, Matt Hooper, (publishers) Integrity Worship Music, Integrity’s Praise! Music, Life Worship, Travis Ryan Music

Even So Come — (writers) Jess Cates, Jason Ingram, Chris Tomlin (publisher S. D. G. Publishing, Sixsteps Songs, Worship Together Music, Open Hands Music, So Essential Tunes, Lily Makes Music

For more categories and information on the 47th Annual GMA Dove Awards, visit www.doveawards.com.

Comments are closed.