Gospel artists shine at SAMA Awards


The 27th edition of the South African Music Awards (SAMA) were held virtually and broadcast live on SABC 1 last Saturday night. The SAMAs celebrate the artists that have made the most impact in the last year. This year’s installation aptly named #SAMA27 was hosted by Lawrence Maleka and Bontle Modiselle. 

Two Gospel artists that were nominated the most were Bucy Radebe and Hle. Bucy was nominated in Female Artist of the Year, Newcomer of the Year. Best Traditional Faith Music Album and Best Live Audio-Visual Recording of the Year. She won The Best Traditional Faith Music Album for Spiritual Encounter and won the Newcomer of the Year. Hle was nominated in two categories: Female of the Year and Best Contemporary Faith Music Album. She won the award for the Best Contemporary Faith Music Album for Your Kingdom on Earth.

Bucy Radebe performing at the SAMA 27

Best African Indigenous Faith Album award went to Mandlethu Gospel Singers for Izwi Lakho

Master KG was awarded a special award the International Achievement Award for Jerusalema his hit song featuring Nomcebo. He also won the SAMRO/Capasso Highest Airplay Award for Jerusalema. This award he shares with Nomcebo Zikode.

One of the founders of Joyous Celebration, Dr Lindelani Mkhize was awarded the Lifetime Achievers Award for his contribution in discovering new artists. He was awarded alongside entertainment icons P J Powers and Lebo M (Lebohang Morake)

Below is the full list of winners:

Artist of the Year — Blaq Diamond
Record of the Year Keep it Together – Matthew Mole 
Music Video of the Year Price to Pay – Miss Pru featuring Blaq Diamond and Malome Vector
Album of the Year Once Upon A Time In Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings)
Duo or Group of the Year Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings) – Once Upon A Time In Lockdown
Sofnfree Female Artist of the Year Sho Madjozi – What A Life
Male Artist of the Year Kabza De Small – I Am The King of Amapiano: Sweet & Dust
White Star Newcomer of the Year Bucy Radebe – Spiritual Encounter
Best Rock Album Orange Sunshine – Yum Yuck
Best Pop Album Tribes & Angels – Locnville
Beste Pop Album Twintig 20 – Brendan Peyper
 Best Adult Contemporary Album Rise – Ndlovu Youth Choir
Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album Herverbeel – Die Heuwels Fantasties
Best African Adult Contemporary Album Amakhaya – Max Hoba
Best Alternative Album Iimini – Bongeziwe Mabandla
Best R&B/Soul Album Uhambo – Soul Kulture
Best Hip-Hop Album Zulu Man With Some Power – Nasty C
Best Kwaito Album Ama Roto EP – Reece Madlisa and Zuma
Best Dance Album The Healers: The Last Chapter – Black Motion
Best Traditional Faith Album Spiritual Encounter – Bucy Radebe
Best Contemporary Faith Album Your Kingdom on Earth – Hle
Best African Indigenous Faith Album Izwi Lakho – Mandlethu Gospel Singers
Rest of Africa Songs in the Key of Love – Berita
Best Traditional Album What a Life – Sho Madjozi
Best Maskandi Album kaMakhelwane – Abafana Baka Mgqumeni
Best Jazz Album Modes of Communication: Letters from the Underworld – Nduduzo Makhathini
Best Classical/Instrumental Album We’ve Known All Times – Wouter Kellerman
Best Afropop Album Ngumama – Vusi Nova
Best Live Audio Visual Recording Journey to the World and Beyond – Sun-El Musician
Best Collaboration Mali Eningi – Big Zulu feat Riky Rick and Intaba yase Dubai
Best Produced Music Video Hosh by Prince Kaybee feat Sir Trill – Ofentse
Best Produced Album of the Year Umsebenzi by Sjava – Delaydem, Ruff, Webmoms, Zadok and Vuyo Manyike
Best Engineered Album of the Year Inganekwane by Zoe Modiga – Papi Diretsi and Songo Oyama
Remix of the Year Yehla Moya – Da Capo
Best Reggae Album Persistence – Bongo Riot
Best Amapiano Album Once Upon A Time in Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings)
Best Gqom Album Inzalo Yekwaito – Zinaro
Lifetime Achievement Award Lebo M, Dr Lindelani Mkhize, PJ Powers
International Achievement Award Master KG
Best Selling Artist Mlindo the Vocalist – Emakhaya
Most Streamed Song You’re the One – Elaine
SAMRO Composer Highest Airplay Kgaugelo Moagi (Master KG) and Nomcebo Zikode – Jerusalema

Comments are closed.