Jesus,Firm Foundation: Hymns of Worship — Review

JesusHymnsMusic Review by Val Viljoen


This album is a collection of (mostly) well known and beloved hymns (Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus, Be Still My Soul, Nothing But the Blood) that have been given a fresh new sound by the addition on extra lyrics as well as a modern arrangement. Each track is by a different artist or group and again they are mostly respected and well known – including Michael W Smith, Casting Crowns and Hillsong. The result is a worship CD that should have wide appeal. Well worth considering when doing your Christmas shopping!

The complete track listing is as follows:

1. Jesus, Firm Foundation – Mark Hall (Casting Crowns), Mike Donehey (Tenth Avenue North), Steven Curtis Chapman, Mandisa
2. Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus (Look Up) – Nichole Nordeman
3. All Hail The Power Of Jesus’ Name (Crown Him) – Michael W. Smith
4. I Surrender All (All To Jesus) – Casting Crowns
5. Holy, Holy, Holy (God With Us) – Matt Maher
6. Be Still My Soul (In You I Rest) – Kari Jobe
7. My Jesus, I Love Thee (Your Holy Name) – Building 429
8. Jesus Paid It All – Newsboys
9. Blessed Assurance (My King Is Coming) – Matthew West
10. Nothing But The Blood – Andy Cherry
11. Cornerstone – Hillsong
12. It Is Well (Oh My Soul) – Brandon Heath

One Comment

  1. This album is long overdue. Rescuing these songs from oblivion and extinction is of prime importance and giving them a fresh sound is a great idea.